Full name Arsenal Football Club Academy
Nickname(s) The Gunners
Founded 1954
Ground Arsenal FC Training Centre, Shenley
(capacity: N/A)
Chairman Peter Hill-Wood
Head Coach Pat Holland
League FA Premier Academy League
2011–12 FAPAL Group A, 3rd

Arsenal Football Club Academy are the youth team of Arsenal Football Club. They currently play in the FA Premier Academy League, the highest level of youth football in England. The club enter Under-18 and Under-16 teams in the League, but they operate the academy for boys from the age of nine upwards.

Some of the senior members of the U18 team also play for Arsenal Reserves. The current head coach is Pat Holland after the promotion of former Arsenal defender Steve Bould, while the younger teams are coached by Roy Massey and Steve Gatting. Former Arsenal midfielder and Republic of Ireland international Liam Brady oversees the overall youth development setup at the club with his assistant David Court.


Arsenal Youth (1954–1998)

Arsenal have occasionally operated a youth team as far back as 1893–94, and there had been an established third team (known as Arsenal 'A') for young players from 1929 to 1969.

In 1954, Arsenal started their own formal youth team. They entered the South Eastern Counties League (renamed the South East Counties League the following season) and the associated South East Counties League Cup from 1954–55 to 1997–98 (excluding 1967–68 and 1968–69). Arsenal Youth also played in the London Minor FA Challenge Cup (from 1954–55 to 1955–56 and 1959–60 to 1966–67) and the Southern Junior Floodlit Cup (from 1955–56 to 1971–72 and 1974–75 to 1998–99). The club have played in the FA Youth Cup since 1954–55.

During this time, Arsenal were one of the most successful youth teams in the country, winning seven South East Counties League titles, six South East Counties League Cups (including three "doubles") and four FA Youth Cups.

Arsenal Academy (1998–present)

The youth team became founder members of the FA Premier Youth League in 1997–98. The league was initially a single division and Arsenal won the inaugural title. The following season this was renamed the Premier Academy League and split into Under-19 and Under-17 sections, with the new FA Academy system formally changing Arsenal's youth team to Academy status. Arsenal entered teams in both sections, winning the U17 title in 1999–00 and the U19 title in 2001–02 as well as two more FA Youth Cups.

Since 2004–05, the FA Premier Academy League has consisted of only a single section for Under-18s, although an Under-16 section is played with no league table being recorded. Arsenal U18s have won their division group (Group A) three times, in 2007–08, 2008–09 and 2009–10. They went on to win the academy play-off semi-final and final in 2008–09 and 2009–10 to become FA Premier Academy League champions. In 2009 they completed their first double by also winning the 2008–09 FA Youth Cup, having beaten Liverpool 6–2 on aggregate in the final.


  • FA Premier Academy League (Record)
Winners (5): 1997–98 (U18), 1999–00 (U17), 2001–02 (U19), 2008–09 (U18), 2009–10 (U18)
  • FA Youth Cup
Winners (7): 1965–66, 1970–71, 1987–88, 1993–94, 1999–00, 2000–01, 2008–09
  • South East Counties League
Winners (4): 1955–56, 1964–65, 1971–72, 1990–91
  • South East Counties League Cup
Winners (6): 1959–60, 1960–61, 1961–62, 1963–64, 1970–71, 1979–80
  • Southern Junior Floodlit Cup
Winners (5): 1962–63, 1965–66, 1984–85, 1990–91, 1997–98
  • London Minor FA Cup
Winners (1): 1966–67

International academy graduates

This is a list of former Arsenal F.C. academy or Arsenal 'A' graduates who have gone on to represent their country at full international level since the Second World War.

As of 29 February 2012.
  • Antigua and Barbuda Anton Blackwood
  • Australia Neil Kilkenny
  • Cyprus Georgios Efrem
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo Peggy Lokando
  • Denmark Nicklas Bendtner
  • England Tony Adams
  • England David Bentley
  • England Jay Bothroyd
  • England Danny Clapton
  • England Andy Cole
  • England Ashley Cole
  • England Leslie Compton
  • England Charlie George
  • England Kieran Gibbs
  • England Ray Kennedy
  • England Martin Keown
  • England Paul Merson
  • England Arthur Milton
  • England Ray Parlour
  • England John Radford
  • England Graham Rix
  • England David Rocastle
  • England Len Shackleton
  • England Lionel Smith
  • England Peter Storey
  • England Michael Thomas
  • England Jack Wilshere
  • Faroe Islands Ingi Højsted
  • Ghana Quincy Owusu-Abeyie
  • Iceland Stefán Gíslason
  • Republic of Ireland Graham Barrett
  • Republic of Ireland Liam Brady
  • Republic of Ireland John Devine
  • Republic of Ireland Keith Fahey
  • Republic of Ireland David O'Leary
  • Republic of Ireland Frank O'Neill
  • Republic of Ireland Niall Quinn
  • Republic of Ireland Pat Scully
  • Republic of Ireland Frank Stapleton
  • Republic of Ireland Anthony Stokes
  • Jamaica Narada Bernard
  • Northern Ireland Colin Hill
  • Northern Ireland Steve Morrow
  • Northern Ireland Terry Neill
  • Northern Ireland Sammy Nelson
  • Northern Ireland Pat Rice
  • Northern Ireland Dean Shiels
  • Poland Wojciech Szczęsny
  • Scotland Paul Dickov
  • Scotland Alex Forsyth
  • Scotland Richard Hughes
  • Senegal Armand Traoré
  • Spain Cesc Fàbregas
  • Sweden Sebastian Larsson
  • Switzerland Johan Djourou
  • United States Frank Simek
  • Wales Ray Daniel
  • Wales Mal Griffiths
  • Wales Andy Marriott
  • Wales Tom Walley
  • Wales Rhys Weston














Next Football Trial


2015 2016 Football Trials

Spurs Trials

Sheffield United Trials

Crystal Palace Trials

Charlton Athletic FC

West Ham Trial

Liverpool FC Trials

Southend United FC

Watford Academy

Fulham FC Academy

Charlton More Trials

Brentford FC Trials

Chelsea FC Trials

Peterborough FC Trials

Dagenham & Redbridge

AFC Hayes Academy

Spurs Ladies Trials

Leyton Orient Trials

HACH Academy Trials

Braintree Town Trials

Colne FC Trials

Boreham Wood Trial

Hartpury College Trials

Highmoor Trials

Tilbury FC Trials

London Bari Trials

Watford Excellence Trial

Cambridge Academy Trials

Hungerford Town FC

Dunstable Town Trials

Aldershot Town Trials

Chesham United Trials

Radcliff Borough Trials

Woking FC Trials

Accrington Stanley Trials

USA Soccer Scholarships

Basingstoke Trials

Watford Trials  

Derby County Trials  

Norwich City Trials 

Boys Football Trial

Colchester United Trials

Peterborough Trials

Reading Trials

Tooting & Mitcham Trials

Lincoln City Trials

Africa Football Trials

Doncaster Rovers Belles

Reading FC Feeder Trial

Basingstoke Town Trial

Croydon Athletic Trials

Kettering Town Academy

Kingstonian Academy Trial

Lewes FC Academy Trials

Guiseley FC Academy Trials

Chorley FC Academy Trials

Ebbsfleet Academy Trials

Trial Locations

Trials in London 2015

Trials in West Midlands 2015

2015 Open Trials Invitations

 Manchester City Academy

 Chelsea FC Foundation

 Reading Open Trial

 Notts County Trials

 Carlisle United Academy

 Dover Athletic Trial

 Motherwell FC Scotland

 Shrewsbury Town Academy

 Stalybridge Academy Trial

 Bath City Trials

Login for Trial Access

Submit your CV